Comic Con Info – True Believers Comic Festival: Summer Variant edition 20.08.17

static1.squarespace.com

One week today sees the True Believers Comic Festival: Summer Variant Edition taking place at Blackfriars Priory in central Gloucester from 11am until 4pm.

A mini version of the annual show based at Cheltenham Racecourse, this con will continue the main event’s exceptionally strong focus on comic books, their creators, fans and the community that surrounds them.

I’m making the trip from Cardiff, and I heartily suggest you do the same.  I can’t wait to see what fellow indie comics advocate, Stuart Mulrain, has put together 🙂

There looks to be a really cool mix of western comic style creators, manga-inspired work, some brilliant illustrators, comic traders, cosplayers and some really cool looking panels too.

Check out the table plans below to see who’ll be there – I’m heading straight for Phoenix comic favourites The Etherington Brothers table upon arrival – they were recently (delightful) guests at Cardiff Expo, but I didn’t get the opportunity to grab any of their (huge amounts of) books, and have at least two I have to get my hands on.

Also on my hit list are Sarah Millman, and Nick Prolix – more books I failed to pick up at Cardiff Expo!!

Further recommendations for any of you coming along are: Andy Bloor, Ian Blakeman Illustration, Time Bomb Comics and True Heart and Soul Design Studio.

static1.squarespace.com2

There’s also a heap of creators whose work I don’t know – yet!!  Part of the fun of a proper comic con is discovering new and amazing books and artwork – this is why it’s essential to go further afield than just your home town convention…I’m genuinely excited to go pick up some new books and meet some new (to me) indie creators.

Roll on Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

